Skip Navigation

Division Office: Rm 310

Office Hours:

     M-Th, 7:30 am - 7:30 pm

     Fri, 7:30 am - 5:00 pm

Phone: 714-992-7032

Welcome to the Business and CIS Division

The Business/CIS Division at Fullerton College offers a diverse array of courses, certificates and degrees in Accounting, Business Management, Computer Information Systems, Paralegal Studies, Marketing Management, and Real Estate. Many of the fastest growing and highest wage-earning occupations in southern California over the next ten years are represented by our offerings.

Fullerton College 300 Building

The Paralegal Program at Fullerton College

The Fullerton College’s Paralegal Studies Program approved by the American Bar Association (ABA) offers an Associate in Science Degree and a Certificate to qualified students. The goal of the program is to educate students to become paralegals who perform effectively in a variety of legal settings and adapt to changes in the ever-evolving field of law. This program prepares the student for a career as a paralegal working under the supervision of an attorney in either the public or private sector.


This program is not intended to prepare students for the practice of law. The Paralegal studies program is approved by the American Bar Association (ABA).

The objectives of the program are as follows:

  • To maintain a program that is dedicated to quality education and occupational competency for the paralegal student in the field of law;

  • To ensure that students receive specific instruction and training in the skills necessary to succeed in any legal environment;

  • To offer an ever-expanding curriculum which provides not only a broad understanding of the substantive law, but demonstrates and teaches the practical application of this knowledge in today's legal environment;

  • To stress the importance of upholding the general principles of ethics, professional responsibility, and the prohibitions against the unauthorized practice of law;

  • To periodically review and revise the curriculum in response to the recommendations of the Fullerton College Paralegal Studies’ Advisory Committee, the demands of the legal community and the American Bar Association, as well as statutory provisions contained within California's Business andProfessions Code;

  • To provide the student with the opportunity to apply the skills and knowledge taught in the program by offering the student the ability to enroll and participate in an internship, thereby providing the student with a modicum of legal experience before entering the job market.


Fullerton College offers both an Associate in Science Degree and a certificate for those students interested in becoming a paralegal or going on to law school. Students are encouraged to visit the college's website (www.fullcoll.edu) to locate registration deadlines, costs, and examine the college catalog accessible at the main page.


There is no admission process aside from signing up for the classes. However, some classes do have pre-requisites. New students are encouraged to take three paralegal classes the first semester:


PLEG 101 - Introduction to Paralegal Studies


PLEG 104 - Introduction to Legal Research & Terminology


PLEG 116 - Computers in the Law Office I


These are foundational classes that give a student an initial grasp of the law, explain what a paralegal is and does, how to conduct legal research for generating legal documents, and how to use the Microsoft Office suite in a law environment.


These three classes are required classes for all paralegal students. There are three other required classes, to wit, PLEG 105, 201 and 202 (Introduction to Legal Writing, Civil Litigation I and Civil Litigation II).*


The remaining units required for a degree or a certificate (see below for a further explanation of how many) are electives and can be chosen based on a student’s subject interest. All classes offered in the program can be found in the Fullerton College Catalog.


Any student who has already completed paralegal classes at another institution needs to be aware only six units may be transferred into the program, and those six units must meet the following criteria:

  1. Must be attained at an A.B.A.-approved school;

  2. Must meet both the unit and content requirements of the class for which the student would like the units applied; and

  3. Are not a required class in the Fullerton College Program as all required classes must be completed at Fullerton.


As we are approved by the American Bar Association (ABA), the requirements for the awarding of a degree or certificate are set by them. The Associate in Science degree requires the successful completion (a C or better in all classes) of 27 paralegal studies units (18 units of required courses discussed above and 9 units of electives).* Additionally, the student must complete all required general education classes as set forth by the ABA and the college.


If a student already has an associate degree or higher (caveats apply to those who have an associate degree) they are eligible to achieve a certificate after the successful completion of 30 units of paralegal studies classes (the same 18 required units, plus 12 elective units).* Students who only have an associate degree should contact Cecilia Meisenhelder or Hochin Moon in counseling to set up an appointment to have their general education classes evaluated. The ABA does not accept all general education classes the college accepts for the associate degree. In rare cases, students may have to take additional general education classes to satisfy the general education requirements approved by the ABA.


If a student attends classes full-time, the associate degree can be completed in two years and the certificate can be completed in a year and a half. The vast majority of our classes are offered evenings and Saturdays. Other information on the program can be obtain via the counselors, reviewing the college catalog or attending one of the informational meetings (non-mandatory) that are offered before the start of the Fall and Spring semesters. Please check the appropriate class schedule for times, dates, fees, and locations.


* Students starting at Fullerton College commencing with the Fall 2011 semester will still be required to complete 27 paralegal units for the associate degree and 30 paralegal units for the certificate, but the number of required classes increases from six classes (PLEG 101, 104, 105, 116, 201 and 202) to eight classes (PLEG 101, 104, 105, 116, 201, 202, 207 and 216).

The Gainful Employment regulation requires Fullerton College to provide consumer information to prospective and current students for vocational and certificate programs. For details on Gainful Employment, click here

Fullerton College is part of the North Orange County Community College District
For comments and suggestions email the webmaster
Website Design by Bill Cole
Website last updated October 29, 2014
Disclaimer © Fullerton College, Copyright 2012
Report accessibility issues to Webmaster

Faculty List for the Business and CIS Division:
Click on a Faculty Member's name to visit their staff page.
Dean: Phone: Email: Office:
Scott McKenzie 714-992-7033 smckenzie@fullcoll.edu 310
Faculty Phone: Email: Office:
Candy Cantrell 714-992-7203 ccantrell@fullcoll.edu 1318-01
Dale Craig 714-992-7204 dcraig@fullcoll.edu 511-01
Steve Dayton 714-992-7223 sdayton@fullcoll.edu 310-01
Gabriella Fernandez 714-992-72140 gfernandez@fullcoll.edu 320-07
Gary Graves 714-992-7220 ggraves@fullcoll.edu 320-03
Alan McAllister 714-992-7200 amcallister@fullcoll.edu 310 & 320-05
Laura Melella 714-992-7219 lmelella@fullcoll.edu 1318-03
Barry McCarthy 714-992-7205 bmccarthy@fullcoll.edu 320-01
Paul St. John 714-992-7202 pstjohn@fullcoll.edu 320-05
Ming-Yin Scott 714-992-7216 mscott1@fullcoll.edu 320-03
Richard Smead 714-992-7207 rsmead@fullcoll.edu 1318-05
Charmaine Smith 714-992-7222 csmith@fullcoll.edu 320-08
Nora Spencer 714-992-7208 nspencer@fullcoll.edu 320-06
Kathy Standen 714-992-7225 kstanden@fullcoll.edu 320-04
Jane Troop 714-992-7206 jtroop@fullcoll.edu 511-01
Marcus Wilson 714-992-7217 mwilson@fullcoll.edu 320-04
Nancy Woolridge 714-992-7224 nwoolridge@fullcoll.edu 511-01
Office Staff: Phone: Email: Office:
Monica Hagmaier 714-732-5324 mhagmaier@fullcoll.edu 310
Karen McDowell 714-732-5325 kmcdowell@fullcoll.edu 310
Dan Salcedo 714-732-5323 dsalcedo@fullcoll.edu 1318-05
Business Counselor: Phone: Email: Office:
Cecilia Meisenhelder 714-992-7247 cmeisenhelder@fullcoll.edu 2022-04