Skip Navigation

Division Office: Rm 310

Office Hours:

     M-Th, 7:30 am - 7:30 pm

     Fri, 7:30 am - 5:00 pm

Phone: 714-992-7032

Welcome to the Business and CIS Division

The Business/CIS Division at Fullerton College offers a diverse array of courses, certificates and degrees in Accounting, Business Management, Computer Information Systems, Paralegal Studies, Marketing Management, and Real Estate. Many of the fastest growing and highest wage-earning occupations in southern California over the next ten years are represented by our offerings.

Fullerton College 300 Building

Paralegal Studies

Fullerton College's American Bar Association approved Paralegal Program was created to provide the education and skills necessary for a student to perform the tasks required of paralegals.

Paralegal studies help prepare you for the following careers, among others; Paralegals and Legal Assistants, Law Clerks, Other Legal Occupations, Title Examiners, Abstractors and Searchers.

What is a Paralegal?

A paralegal plays an important role in working as a team member along with the lawyer and clerical personnel in a legal environment. His or her job responsibilities can be as varied or as specialized as the law practice in which the paralegal is employed. California Business & Professional Code, Section 6400, governs paralegals and specifies:

  • Paralegals work under the supervision of an attorney
  • Perform tasks normally performed by an attorney with the exception of giving legal advice, setting fees or representing clients in adversarial proceedings (court)
  • Assignments frequently performed by paralegals include:

    1. Performing initial client interview.
    2. Directing investigations and witness interviews.
    3. Representing clients in select administrative hearings.
    4. Conducting extensive legal research in all sources of law and secondary authority.
    5. Drafting legal briefs, memoranda, pleadings, and other legal documents based on the research conducted.
    6. Initiating discovery.
    7. Managing witness preparation for trial and a plethora of other tasks associated with litigation and transactional law.
    8. Additionally, the paralegal is bound to follow the code of ethics imposed by state law on attorneys as it relates to client confidentiality, the unauthorized practice of law, solicitation, and advertising.

Members of Fullerton's Paralegal Studies Advisory Board Fullerton College's Paralegal Studies Advisory Committee is composed of prestigious practicing attorneys, paralegal/legal assistants, state bar employees, faculty, community representatives, and court personnel, including judges.

The Advisory Board ensures that the curriculum is responsive to the needs of the growing profession and requirements of the ever-expanding legal community.

With semi-annual meetings, the committee actively assists in on-going program reviews and content evaluations.

Employment Facts

Demand for paralegals and legal assistants is projected to grow almost 30% in the next five years. Entry level positions in the field have one of the highest wages for occupations requiring just an associate’s degree. A growing number of firms in business and industry employ paralegals to assist in case research and preparation in liability proceedings, in conjunction with their own retained legal counselors. Many paralegals continue with their education to obtain a bachelor’s degree, and, ultimately, their law degree, while working in the field.

Program Description

Read about the Paralegal Department at Fullerton College.

Requirements and Sequencing Plan

Learn more about program requirements and a course sequence plan.

Advisory Committee

Members of Fullerton's Paralegal Studies Advisory Board Fullerton College's Paralegal Studies Advisory Committee is composed of prestigious practicing attorneys, paralegal/legal assistants, state bar employees, faculty, community representatives, and court personnel, including judges.

The Advisory Board ensures that the curriculum is responsive to the needs of the growing profession and requirements of the ever-expanding legal community.

With semi-annual meetings, the committee actively assists in on-going program reviews and content evaluations.

Our Contacts

Contact information for all members of the Fullerton College Paralegal team , counselors, financial aid, as well as links to association web sites.

Lamda Chi Epsilon

Lambda Chi Epsilon (LEX) is a national honor society established to recognize students who demonstrate superior academic performance in an established program of paralegal and law-related studies. LEX derives from the Latin root meaning "pertaining to the law" or "legal".

Students in the Fullerton College Paralegal Studies Program qualify for membership if they:

  • have completed two-thirds of their required coursework; and

  • have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 in their required coursework.

Applications for consideration may be obtained in the Business & CIS Division Office in room 310.

Disclaimer

This Program is not intended to prepare students for law school or the practice of law. "No person shall practice law in this state unless he/she is an active member of the State Bar." California Business and Professional Code, Section 6125.

The Gainful Employment regulation requires Fullerton College to provide consumer information to prospective and current students for vocational and certificate programs. For details on Gainful Employment, click here

Fullerton College is part of the North Orange County Community College District
For comments and suggestions email the webmaster
Website Design by Bill Cole
Website last updated October 29, 2014
Disclaimer © Fullerton College, Copyright 2012
Report accessibility issues to Webmaster

Faculty List for the Business and CIS Division:
Click on a Faculty Member's name to visit their staff page.
Dean: Phone: Email: Office:
Scott McKenzie 714-992-7033 smckenzie@fullcoll.edu 310
Faculty Phone: Email: Office:
Candy Cantrell 714-992-7203 ccantrell@fullcoll.edu 1318-01
Dale Craig 714-992-7204 dcraig@fullcoll.edu 511-01
Steve Dayton 714-992-7223 sdayton@fullcoll.edu 310-01
Gabriella Fernandez 714-992-72140 gfernandez@fullcoll.edu 320-07
Gary Graves 714-992-7220 ggraves@fullcoll.edu 320-03
Alan McAllister 714-992-7200 amcallister@fullcoll.edu 310 & 320-05
Laura Melella 714-992-7219 lmelella@fullcoll.edu 1318-03
Barry McCarthy 714-992-7205 bmccarthy@fullcoll.edu 320-01
Paul St. John 714-992-7202 pstjohn@fullcoll.edu 320-05
Ming-Yin Scott 714-992-7216 mscott1@fullcoll.edu 320-03
Richard Smead 714-992-7207 rsmead@fullcoll.edu 1318-05
Charmaine Smith 714-992-7222 csmith@fullcoll.edu 320-08
Nora Spencer 714-992-7208 nspencer@fullcoll.edu 320-06
Kathy Standen 714-992-7225 kstanden@fullcoll.edu 320-04
Jane Troop 714-992-7206 jtroop@fullcoll.edu 511-01
Marcus Wilson 714-992-7217 mwilson@fullcoll.edu 320-04
Nancy Woolridge 714-992-7224 nwoolridge@fullcoll.edu 511-01
Office Staff: Phone: Email: Office:
Monica Hagmaier 714-732-5324 mhagmaier@fullcoll.edu 310
Karen McDowell 714-732-5325 kmcdowell@fullcoll.edu 310
Dan Salcedo 714-732-5323 dsalcedo@fullcoll.edu 1318-05
Business Counselor: Phone: Email: Office:
Cecilia Meisenhelder 714-992-7247 cmeisenhelder@fullcoll.edu 2022-04